Climate control and ­automatic climate control The air conditioning of driver cabs is one of the most complex tasks in vehicle development.

Due to the individual operating conditions of vehicles and stationary applications, in addition to a reliable heating and cooling circuit, optimal climate control is also required.

Due to constantly changing temperatures, solar radiation and ultimately also individual needs, a heating or air conditioning system must react quickly and flexibly, but must also guarantee constant comfort.

Based on extensive experience in the field of control and regulation technology in conjunction with the specialist knowledge of heating and cooling circuits, Wölfle offers a unique expertise - from simple blow-out rules to PID controllers to mathematical energy models for fully automated climate control.

In addition to in-house hardware and software development, and in-house test centre with vehicle climate chamber, we also offer a comprehensive product portfolio. This includes, among other things, operating elements, heating and air conditioning controls and power controls, but also highly intelligent controls for a comprehensive thermal management of the vehicles.

  • Virtual sensor

    Wölfle Energy Model

  • 12 years

    Experience

  • <1K

    Control or temperature deviation

  • >70.000

    in the field

Climate model Influencing factors

Comfort is becoming more and more important in our day and age - including for the everyday workplace.
Different temperature conditions such as heat in summer or cold in winter play a major role. Concentrated and ultimately successful work is only possible with a perfectly air-conditioned workplace.  

Classic climate controls often reach their limits here, as these systems are mostly based exclusively on the values ​​of the implemented sensors (internal temperature, external temperature, sun sensor, door contact switch).

Our Wölfle climate model not only includes control based on sensor values, but also takes into account the mathematical values ​​of an energy model (so-called virtual sensor). Despite changing influences such as solar radiation, temperature jumps and open doors, this enables a predictive reaction of the systems and thus a stable temperature <1K.

 

Climate model control systems Control method 1: PID / PI controller

A PID Controller (Proportional-Integral-Differential Controller) is a control loop that uses feedback data from the various sensors on the vehicle. The PID controller continuously calculates an error value as the difference between the desired setpoint of the temperature controller (e.g. 21° C) and a measured process variable (e.g. temperature sensors) and applies a correction.

Model-based climate model Control method 1: Model-based controller

To put it simply, Wölfle climate model is the calculation of the indoor temperature using a complex energy model. For this purpose, a Matlab® model is generated from the HV/AC system and the (driver) cab. This model is able to calculate the indoor temperature at any time and in advance.

There are also lots of sub-controllers and models to improve the quality, wear and tear and the perception of the system. The Wölfle model is now being developed in the third generation and has since been expanded with numerous functions that, on the one hand, accelerate integration and adaptation to the vehicle (adaptation to a vehicle in a few days) and, on the other hand, allow for permanent improvement of the climate model in operation.

Model-based climate model (measurement recording) Control method 1: Model-based controller

The graphic shows a measurement of a counterbalanced lift truck. The temperature is shown on the Y-axis. The time in minutes on the X-axis. The blue line shows the outside temperature of the vehicle directly at the fresh air intake.

  • You can see immediately at the start of the measurement that the fresh air drops to 3° C. The vehicle is in an environment of 0° C.
  • After approx. 14 minutes the vehicle suddenly changes the ambient temperature (vehicle drives into a heated hall), approx. 26° C. It can be seen that the fresh air temperature follows an E-function.
  • The temperature changes again after a further 24 minutes.
  • The magenta-coloured line demonstrates the internal temperature of the cab (according to ISO mean). This shows that the internal temperature rises to 25° C and remains constant throughout the entire measurement.

Such a temperature profile can only be achieved using an energy model.

Arne Tiedemann

B.A. / Teamleader

Key-Account-Manager

HV/AC Distribution

T +49-7352-929-138

arne.tiedemann@woelfle-gmbh.de

Klimaregelung und ­Klimaautomatik Die Klimatisierung von Fahrerkabinen zählt zu einer der komplexesten Aufgaben der Fahrzeugentwicklung.

Aufgrund der individuellen Einsatzbedingungen von Fahrzeugen und stationären Anwendungen bedarf es neben einem zuverlässigen Heiz- und Kältekreislauf auch einer optimalen Klimaregelung.

Durch sich ständig verändernde Temperaturen, Sonneneinstrahlung und letztlich auch die individuellen Bedürfnisse muss eine Heiz- oder Klimaanlage schnell und flexibel reagieren, aber auch einen gleichbleibenden Komfort gewährleisten.

Anhand der langjährigen Erfahrung im Bereich der Steuerungs- und Regeltechnik in Verbindung mit dem Fachwissen von Heiz- und Kältekreisläufen bietet die Firma Wölfle hier eine einzigartige Kompetenz - von einfachen Ausblasregeln, über PID-Regler, bis hin zu mathematischen Energiemodellen zur vollautomatisierten Klimaregelung.

Neben der eigenen Hard- und Softwareentwicklung, sowie dem hausinternen Versuchszentrum mit Fahrzeugklimakammer bieten wir zudem ein vollumfängliches Produktportfolio. Hierzu gehören unter anderem Bedienelemente, Heiz- und Klimasteuerungen und Leistungssteuerungen, aber auch hochintelligente Steuerungen für ein vollumfängliches Thermomanagement der Fahrzeuge.

  • Virtueller Sensor

    Wölfle Energiemodell

  • 12 Jahre

    Erfahrung

  • <1K

    Regel- oder Temperaturabweichung

  • >70.000

    im Feld

Klimamodell Einflussfaktoren

Der Komfort gewinnt in unserer heutigen Zeit immer mehr an Bedeutung - auch für den täglichen Arbeitsplatz.
Unterschiedliche Temperaturbedingungen wie Hitze im Sommer oder Kälte  im Winter spielen dabei eine große Rolle. Nur mit einem perfekt klimatisierten Arbeitsplatz ist konzentriertes und letztlich erfolgreiches Arbeiten möglich.  

Klassische Klimaregelungen stoßen hierbei oft an Ihre Grenzen, da diese Systeme sich meist ausschließlich auf die Werte der implementierten Sensoren (Innentemperatur, Außentemperatur, Sonnensensor, Türkontaktschalter) stützen.

Unser Wölfle Klimamodell beinhaltet hierbei nicht nur die Regelung basierend auf Sensorwerten, sondern berücksichtigt auch mathematische Werte eines Energiemodells (sog. virtueller Sensor). Dies ermöglicht trotz wechselnder Einflüsse wie Sonneneinstrahlung, Temperatursprünge und geöffneten Türen eine vorausschauende Reaktion der Systeme und damit eine stabile Temperatur <1K.

 

Klimamodell Reglersysteme Reglermethode 1: PID- / PI-Regler

Ein PID-Regler (Proportionaler-Integraler-Differentialer-Regler) ist ein Regelkreis, der Rückkopplungsdaten von den verschiedenen Sensoren des Fahrzeugs verwendet. Der PID-Regler berechnet kontinuierlich einen Fehlerwert als Differenz zwischen dem gewünschten Sollwert des Temperaturreglers (z. B. 21 °C) und einer gemessenen Prozessvariablen (z.B. Temperatursensoren) und wendet eine Korrektur an.

Klimamodell Modellbasiert Reglermethode 1: Modellbasierter Regler

Das Wölfle Klimamodell ist vereinfacht erklärt eine Berechnung der Innentemperatur anhand eines komplexen Energiemodells. Hierzu wird von der HV/AC-Anlage und von der (Fahrer-) Kabine ein Matlab® Modell generiert. Dieses Modell ist in der Lage, jederzeit und auch im Voraus die Innentemperatur zu berechnen.

Dazu kommen jede Menge Unterregler und Modelle um die Qualität, den Verschleiß und die Wahrnehmung des Systems zu verbessern. Das Wölfle Modell wird nun in der dritten Generation entwickelt und ist mit zahlreichen Funktionen inzwischen erweitert worden, die zum einen die Integration und Anpassung ans Fahrzeug beschleunigen (Anpassung an ein Fahrzeug in wenigen Tagen) und zum anderen eine permanente Verbesserung des Klimamodells im Betrieb erlauben.

Klimamodell Modellbasiert (Messaufnahme) Reglermethode 1: Modellbasierter Regler

Die Grafik zeigt eine Messaufnahme eines Gegengewichtsstaplers. Auf der Y-Achse ist die Temperatur abgebildet. Auf der X-Achse die Zeit in Minuten. Die blaue Linie zeigt die Außentemperatur des Fahrzeuges unmittelbar an der Frischluftansaugung.

  • Zu erkennen ist direkt beim Start der Messung, dass die Frischluft auf 3 °C fällt. Das Fahrzeug befindet sich in einer Umgebung von 0 °C.
  • Nach ca. 14 Minuten wechselt das Fahrzeug schlagartig die Umgebungstemperatur (Fahrzeug fährt in eine beheizte Halle), ca. 26 °C. Man erkennt, dass die Frischlufttemperatur einer E-Funktion folgt.
  • Nach weiteren 24 Minuten wechselt die Temperatur wieder.
  • Die magentafarbene Linie demonstriert die Innentemperatur der Kabine (nach ISO-Mittel). Diese zeigt nach Start der Messung, dass die Innentemperatur auf 25 °C steigt und konstant über die gesamte Messung hält.

Solch ein Temperaturverlauf ist nur mittels eines Energiemodells zu erreichen.

Arne Tiedemann

B.A. / Teamleiter

Key-Account-Manager

HV/AC Vertrieb

T +49-7352-929-138

arne.tiedemann@woelfle-gmbh.de